Israel Society for Neuroscience

The Israel Society for Neuroscience (ISFN) is a registered non-profit organization that was founded in 1992 by several leading Israeli neuroscientists. From about 300 participants at the first Annual Meetings  at its establishment, it has  doubled in size. Members include neuroscientists and graduate students from all the research institutes and universities in Israel, as well as foreign delegates, all of whom are involved in versatile basic and clinical research of the nervous system.

The Society holds an annual meeting each fall, which offers a stage for presentations of cutting edge research in the form of oral lectures, posters and WEB based abstracts. The society encourages young students to take part in the meetings, and covers part of the expenses involved in their attendance. Either prior to or following the main scientific sessions there is a full day bi-national satellite symposium, at which Israeli researchers meet and interact with scientists from other countries. At the annual meeting, the Society also announces the recipients of a number of different prizes that recognize individual scientists for their recent achievements and contributions to the field of Neuroscience (see below for a list of this past year's prize recipients).  For more information on the annual ISFN meeting, please visit the ISFN Annual Meeting page. 

The Society further aims to advance public awareness throughout the country to the latest advances in brain research and how brain disorders can be revealed and treated. This goal is achieved by means of lectures and presentations, given voluntarily by Society members, during the "Brain Awareness Week"- an event held around the world at about the same time each year.  For more information about the activies of the ISFN during Brain Awareness Week visit here.

ISFN is the representative body in Israel of recent developments in neuroscience research and their implications. It works closely with The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the various research institutes and universities, as well as other international scientific societies such as the American Society for Neuroscience (SFN), the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS), the International Brain Research Organization (IBRO), and European Dana Alliance for the Brain.

ISFN activities are supported by the annual membership fee, companies donation and brain research centers of the various Israeli universities.

For more information on the ISFN, please visit their website here.



Executive Committee

President (2013-2015): Prof. Esty Shohamy, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

President Elect: Prof. Gal Richter-Levin, University of Haifa


Board members:

Dr. Gabi Amitai, Israel Institute for Biological Research (Past President)

Dr. Ronen Segev, Ben Gurion University of the Negev

Prof. Alexander Binshtok, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Dr. Danny Frenkel, Tel Aviv University

Dr. Rami Yaka, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Prof. Itamar Kahn, The Technion Institute of Technology

Treasurer: Dr. Orly Weinreb, Technion